传记

 玉泉小时候就很喜欢唱歌跳舞。

 她常常把哥哥姐姐或同院中的小孩子都组织起来,把家里的床当作舞台来表演样板戏

 那时候是文化革命中,除了八个所谓革命样板戏以外基本上不允许其它文艺作品上演。玉泉天生好嗓子,人又聪明伶俐,能一口气把一出戏唱下来。她不光是唱京戏,还能吼秦腔呢。

上小学后,玉泉就成了学校宣传队里的台柱子,经常登台或者上街头演出。

玉泉上高中时,文革已经结束了,外部各种新的思潮已开始悄悄涌入中国国内。文艺方面最早传入中国的是台湾天后邓丽君的歌。对听了十年样板戏的中国人来说,听邓丽君天籁般的歌声,就像春风般沐浴着他们的心一样。因此,邓丽君的歌迅速地火遍了中国大地。玉泉自然也迷上了邓丽君的歌。

难能可贵的是玉泉的音色可塑性极强,能唱高亢歌曲的她,唱起邓丽君那样轻柔甜美的歌来,竟然也能唱到以假乱真。因此,玉泉又得了一个小邓丽君的别称。

但那时候的中国社会正处在一个新旧交替的事期,意识形态还未完全解冻。不久,邓丽君的歌被定性为靡靡之音黄色歌曲, 禁止在国内传唱。玉泉也因喜欢唱邓丽君的歌遭到校方批评,还因此被取消了奖学金。

当时,玉泉在甘肃省的重点中学兰州一中读高中,学校规定,每学期大考成绩在班里排在前两位的学生可获奖学金,玉泉除两次是第二外,其余都是第一名,每学期奖学金都应该有她的份。但是那一次,就因为她传唱邓丽君的歌被校方视为思想有问题,失去了领取奖学金的资格。

1982年,玉泉高中毕业后考入了当时中国非常热门的中国科学技术大学,学的是化学专业。因为那时的中国人信奉的是学好数理化,走遍天下都不怕

在科大,玉泉除了学好自己的专业之外,最感兴趣的事仍然是唱歌和跳舞。玉泉不仅仅是歌唱得好,跳起舞来也像模像样的。尤其是你看她边唱边跳时,真可谓是一个能歌善舞的窈窕淑女。就像在小学和中学一样,玉泉又成了科技大学文艺队的活跃人物。在校期间,常参加一些演出和歌舞比赛,还获得过“安徽省大学生文艺之春汇演“独唱和表演奖。

结束了五年的大学生活,玉泉的毕业论文《钡钇铜氧混合体系超细粉沫的制作及其超导性》(Preparation of Ultra-fine Powder of Barium-Yttrium-Copper-Oxide Compound System and Its Superconductivity" (Published in "Chinese Physics" (USA), Vol. 9, No. 2, 1989).)还被发表在美国《Chinese Physics》杂志(Vol. 9, No. 2, 1989)。毕业后的玉泉,被分配到北京的一家大型石化企业。自然而然,能歌善舞、乖巧伶俐的玉泉又成了那家企业文艺队的领衔人物。她经常随演出队去外地巡回演出,也曾在北京中山音乐堂独唱过《我热恋的故乡》及邓丽君的歌曲。在那次演出中,有位著名的作曲家听了玉泉的歌以后,认为玉泉很有潜力,曾和她讨论过离开原单位,当一名职业歌手的事。但由于当时国内僵死的人事管理制度,此事最终没有办成。

1991年,玉泉赴美国留学,后来又定居美国,曾在几家公司和哈佛大学做过数据库管理员等工作。2001年后,因家庭需要开始自己在家做电子商务网站。

但玉泉从来都没有放弃对唱歌的那份执著,唱歌已成了玉泉生命的一部分。这些年里,她陆续加入了黄河河唱团、剑桥中文学校办的卡拉俱乐部,经常参加一些业余演出,还抽空学习声学知识,努力提高自己的歌唱水平。

玉泉的音域比较宽,声音表现力也很丰富。现在,玉泉又创办了一个属于自己的歌唱网站,当你点击这个网站的时候,我相信,玉泉优美的歌声一定会带给你全新的感觉和愉悦的!

Biography

 

When she was little, Yuquan was a lovely girl who was addicted to singing and dancing. She often gathered all the children in the neighborhood, and set up her bed as a stage to perform revolutionary operas. In addition to the eight so-called "revolutionary operas,” basically no other literature was allowed during the “Cultural Revolution” period.

 

Everyone said she was born with a golden voice, intelligent and a quick learner, she was able to sing and play an entire episode from beginning to end. Not only did she sing “Peking Operas”, but also Shaanxi opera (Qin Qiang).

 

After entering elementary school, Yuquan became the major player in the school’s "propaganda team" and often performed on stage or on the street.

 

The "Cultural Revolution" ended when Yuquan was in high school. At that time new trends had begun to move quietly into China. In the artistic area, one of the first trends introduced were songs by “the Queen of Heaven” – Teresa Teng from Taiwan. For people who had been hearing only the revolutionary operas for 10 years, Teng’s voice was like a spring breeze warming their hearts. Soon. Teng's songs quickly became very popular across the entire nation. Of course, with her love of music, Yuquan became obsessed as well.

 

Yuquan’s god-given voice easily allowed her to adopt the sweet singing style of the real Teng and many people were easily confused and convinced that she was Teng. Because of this, she was honored with the knick name of “Little Teresa Teng.”

 

Because the old Chinese society was in a transition of old and new things, the traditional ideology still had not been completely thawed, and very soon Teng's songs were characterized as "conscious" and "yellow songs" by the government and got banned throughout the country. Yuquan was caught up in this turmoil and was criticized by the school for singing Teng's songs. As a result, her scholarship was taken away.

 

At that time, Yuquan was studying in the No. 1 Middle School in Lanzhou  – the top high school in Gansu Province. The regulations stated that the students who were ranked the first two in any major exams would be awarded scholarships. Yuquan was ranked first 10 times and second twice. Even though she was so highly ranked and was qualified to get all the scholarships, she had her eligibility taken away at that time because her singing of Teng's songs was considered an ideological problem.

 

After graduating from the high school in 1982, Yuquan entered the University of Science and Technology of China (known as the Chinese MIT back to the old days), and began to major in Chemistry. At that time, she didn’t’ choose to pursue the Arts since the Chinese academic culture embraced “Math, Physics and Chemistry as everything you need.”

 

At USTC, in addition to studying her own major courses, Yuquan was still very interested in singing and dancing. Just like her days in elementary and high school, her primary love was still singing and dancing, and she continued to be widely recognized as a gentle and graceful dancer and singer. Because of her love of music and dance, Yuquan again became an active figure in the university’s Art group. She often participated in competition, and was presented with several awards in solo singing and dancing during the Anhui College Student’s Art & Literature Competition.

 

In 1987, Yuquan’s five-year student life came to an end. Her thesis, Preparation of Ultra-fine Powder of Barium-Yttrium-Copper-Oxide Compound System and Its Superconductivity" was published in the U.S. "Chinese Physics” Magazine (Vol. 9, No. 2, 1989). Upon graduation, Yuquan was assigned to a large petrochemical enterprise.  With her natural talent and personality, she soon became a lead activist in the company’s Art group. She often performed during the team tour and also sang solo and Teresa's songs at Zhongshan Concert Hall in Beijing. At one of those performances, a famous song writer believed that she had great potential, and talked to her about a possible singing career. However, due to the rigid personnel management system at that time, it was impossible for Yuquan to leave her working place. With much sorrow and regret, she had to put this opportunity aside, and her dream was never realized. 

 

In 1991, Yuquan came to the United States to study, and soon established her home in America. She began working for several companies as a database administrator, and continued that work from 1999 to 2001 at Harvard University. Beginning in 2001, she has created and currently manages several Internet shopping web sites.

 

During all of these times, Yuquan has never given up her love and commitment to singing, and singing has remained as an important part of her life. She has continued to improve her own musical talent and her level of singing competence.

 

In recent years, she has put this love of singing into action and has joined the "Yellow River Art Group" and the Cambridge Chinese School’s Karaoke Club, frequently participating in a number of amateur performances.

 

This past July 2006, Yuquan traveled to China as part of the 63-member Boston Eastern Heritage Chorus, a Boston-area amateur adult singing group, where they won two prestigious awards at the 4th World Choir Games – competing against more than 400 other choruses from 80 nations.

 

Yuquan has a wide vocal range and her voice is rich in expressive force. Yuquan has created her own singing Web site (www.yuquanchen.com) and when you visit that site, you can appreciate her talent and know that her beautiful songs will bring you a whole new feeling of peace and happiness.

 

top